Arkan e Islam: The Five Pillars of Islam

Islam is the second-largest religion in the world and one of the fastest-growing faiths. It is important to understand Islam and the five Arkan e Islam (pillars of Islam). There are many misconceptions about this religion, but it’s actually one of the world’s oldest religions. An estimated 1.6 billion people around the world are Muslim, which makes up about 27% of the world’s population. The word “Islam” is an Arabic word that means submission to God (Allah). Islam teaches that there is only one God and that Muhammad (PBUH) was His Prophet. These are just some of the basic facts about Islam and its five pillars, and how this faith is practised in everyday life.

Islam is a monotheistic religion that emerged during the time of the Arabian Empire. Its followers, or Muslims, believe in one God (Allah) who revealed himself to humanity through prophets and scriptures. There are five pillars of Islam:

  1. Shahada
  2. Salah
  3. Zakat 
  4. Soam 
  5. Hajj

Five Pillars of Islam (Arkan e Islam)

Shahada (Declaration of faith)

Shahada is the declaration of faith, reciting in Arabic, “There is no god but God, Muhammad is the messenger of God.” It’s the first pillar of Islam and it’s what separates a Muslim from a non-Muslim. It simply states that there’s no god besides Allah and that Muhammad is His prophet (SAW).

The shahada is not merely a statement of unbelief in another god; rather it’s an affirmation of faith in Allah as the only true God(Allah) and Muhammad (SAW) as His final prophet. This pillar embodies Muslims’ rejection of any other object of worship as well as their rejection to associate partners or any beings with Him.

To convert to Islam, one must recite this statement:

“I witness that there’s no god but Allah and I witness that Muhammad is God’s messenger.” 

Once they do so sincerely before witnesses, they are considered Muslim.

Salah (Prayer)

Salah is the Arabic word for prayer and it is the most important ritual of arkan e Islam. Muslims perform salah five times a day, kneeling before God to praise him and pray for his guidance. They say the shahada, or declaration of faith, in each prayer:

“I bear witness that there is no deity but Allah and I bear witness that Muhammad (SAW) is His servant and messenger.” 

Salah not only provides a time for worship, but it also reminds Muslims of their responsibilities to Allah as believers. By praying five times a day, Muslims are reminded to stay humble before God (ALLAH) despite their wealth or power.

They are also reminded to be grateful for what they have because God could take it away at any time. There is no specific requirement for the clothes a Muslim wears during prayer. The Prophet Muhammad wore whatever he could find when praying, but it’s not a requirement for all Muslims.

Zakat (Charity)

Zakat is the third pillar of Islam. It is a compulsory act of giving 2.5% of one’s savings and possessions, with the exception of what is needed for living expenses, to those who are less fortunate than oneself.

Zakat means purification and growth because it allows an individual to achieve balance in life by removing the effects of greed and envy from one’s heart. Zakat also helps create equality by redistributing wealth from those who have too much to those who are in need.

Zakat, the act of giving away a fixed proportion of one’s wealth, is one of the five pillars of Islam.

It is obligatory for Muslims to give zakat. And it can be given in any form such as money, food or clothing. Zakat can also be given in the form of a loan to someone who needs help but cannot repay it.

The word zakat comes from the Arabic word meaning “to purify”. The purpose of zakat is to purify our hearts and our wealth by giving to those who are less fortunate than we offer over to wealth.

Roza (Fast) 

The word “fast” is an old English word meaning “abstain from food or drink.” The word is also used to refer to a period of time.

Roza (Fasting) in Islam is the act of abstaining from food, drink and any other physical desires for a prescribed period of time. The fast lasts for a month in the Islamic calendar, during which Muslims must refrain from eating, drinking or engaging in sexual relations with their spouses. Muslims are not expected to fast on days where they are travelling, menstruating or sick. unless an excuse cannot be found.

Muslims have to pray in the congregation as many times a day as they are physically able, and also make an extra prayer at dawn for every day of their fast that has passed. “

Hajj (Pilgrimage)

Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam and is one of the largest annual gatherings in the world. Every Muslim must make this pilgrimage at least once in their lifetime if they are physically and financially able to do so.

Hajj is a journey to the heart of Islam. It is a spiritual journey that takes Muslims closer to Allah, but it also serves as a reminder that we are all equal before God. In addition, it reminds Muslims of their responsibilities towards society and their fellow human beings.

The pilgrimage involves major several rites including:

  •  Tawaf (circumambulation) around the Kaaba seven times;
  •  Sa’i (running) between Safa and Marwah seven times;
  • al Ṣalawāt (prayers at night) in the mosque of the Prophet (SAW).
  • Throwing stone to Satan.
  • Feast of Sacrifice with the command of Allah to sacrifice prescribed halal animals in the ways of God.

These are the Major Five pillars of Islam that show the devotion of any Muslim to Allah. Arkan e Islam is the base of every Muslim faith. Each pillar is an act of worship and devotion to Allah, as well as a means of connecting with other Muslims. Though there are many different interpretations of what Islam is at its core, all Muslims follow these five pillars because they help guide people to live fulfilling lives by following God’s commands.

Leave a Comment